03 December 2020

The 2020 Nelson Ball Prize Shortlist

The 2020 Nelson Ball Prize shortlist was announced today, December 3. The judges this year are Beverley Daurio and James McDonald — both publishers of Nelson and close friends. This year's prize rewards a distinguished publication by a Canadian poet, published in Canada in 2018 or 2019, that features "poetry of observation," one of Nelson's great interests. One hundred and ten entries arrived for consideration.

The Nelson Ball Prize consists of a framed certificate and a cheque for $1,000. The funds have been generously provided by relatives, friends, and fans of Nelson Ball. We are grateful for their kindness and devotion to Nelson's legacy.

The winner will be announced during an online event on December 14. (Further details will be posted on this blog.)

Here is the shortlist:

Cameron Anstee, The Book of Annotations (Invisible Publishing, 2018)

Mike Barnes, Braille Rainbow (Biblioasis, 2019)

Susan Gillis, Yellow Crane (Brick Books, 2018)

Thomas King, 77 Fragments of a Familiar Ruin (HarperCollins, 2019)

Mark Truscott, Branches (Book*hug Press, 2018)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Congratulations to Cameron Anstee!

 The winner of the 2023 Nelson Ball Prize is Ottawa poet Cameron Anstee, for his beautiful book Sheets: Typewriter Works, published by Invis...